Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Questions about Client/Server
Questions about Client/Server [message #132601] Mon, 15 August 2005 02:14 Go to next message
superfool
I am a newbie
I have installed Oracle 9i DB, OAS 9i, ODS 9i.
and I can run Oracle Froms 9i via Web sucessfully.

My questions are,

1. If I want to run Forms 6i, what I need to install more? It seems 6i forms need ifrun6i.exe to run.

2. does 6i forms only can be run in Client/server mode? and 9i can only run in Browser/Server mode? if 9i can run in Client Server mode, how? or another way to ask, can 9i forms' applet run outside the browser? if yes, how?

3, I ever saw a Forms 11i application, It was started in the IE browser, and after started, it runs like a Client/Server applicaton. I don't know how this can be done. Is it use Java Web Start? or something else?

can anybody give me a hand? many thanks.
Re: Questions about Client/Server [message #132603 is a reply to message #132601] Mon, 15 August 2005 02:38 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
1) To run 6i you need to install 6i - it will go into its own Oracle home.

2) 6i can run client/server and three tier. 9i can only run in browser/server/database mode. 9i always run via its Java applet.

3) To my knowledge, Oracle Applications 11i is GUI but with mouse navigation turned off and using fixed fonts.

David
Re: Questions about Client/Server [message #132925 is a reply to message #132603] Tue, 16 August 2005 21:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
superfool
Thanks, David.

I've installed forms 6i, and I can run a test forms in ifrun60.exe now.

do you know How I can build an exe file in forms 6i?
Re: Questions about Client/Server [message #132927 is a reply to message #132925] Tue, 16 August 2005 21:22 Go to previous messageGo to next message
djmartin
Account Moderator
Forms can not be run as an 'exe'. The executible for forms is an 'fmx' and needs the Forms environment to run.