Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Forms - ~Master/Detail
Forms - ~Master/Detail [message #157437] Thu, 02 February 2006 07:53 Go to next message
Safeeq.S

Hi,
I have a Master/Detail form in there is a column delivery note. If a enter something in the delivery note it has to be copied to deliverynote column in the detail form.
Similarly if i clear the delivery note in the master block, the column in the detail should also get cleared.
how to accomplish it??
Re: Forms - ~Master/Detail [message #157468 is a reply to message #157437] Thu, 02 February 2006 09:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message
mail2me
in master block text item u can write a trigger WHEN_VALIDATE_ITEM

:DETIAL.DELIVERY_NO := :MASTER.DELIVERY_NO;

IT THINK THIS SHOULD SOLVE YOUR PURPOSE

THE FOLLOWING TRIGGER WILL BE FIRED WHEN CURSOR MOVES TO SOME OTHER ITEM
Re: Forms - ~Master/Detail [message #157471 is a reply to message #157468] Thu, 02 February 2006 11:07 Go to previous messageGo to next message
RJ.Zijlstra
I have some comments on this:

1) A when-validate-trigger should be used to VALIDATE things. If you want to do things like this use the post-item-trigger. It is the surest way to confusion/disaster to misuse a trigger to do something that does work, but for which it was not intended.

2) If this item you copy is not a primary key, why is it in both tables? This is a bad design of the db. Use the relations item in the datablock to 'relate' the child to the parent, so Forms will do your work. ( and correctly!) And of course you will never, ever change the PK, won't you?

3) for the 'clearing': what is this suppose to mean? You want to completely throw away child row or just one item in this row? See point (1) why this is a bad design.

Re: Forms - ~Master/Detail [message #157790 is a reply to message #157471] Mon, 06 February 2006 00:56 Go to previous message
djmartin
Account Moderator